The New Regime

Posted on Updated on

In case you didn’t know, I’m overweight. Actually on the BMI scale I’m right up in the scary end.I have made the decision last week to kick start my Slimming World efforts. I joined online a little while ago but haven’t given it my full commitment so far. After a heartfelt talking to from my boyfriend. I’m even more determined to get healthy. He told me that he wants me to get healthy as he wants me to be around for as long as possible. He also pointed out all the knock on effects losing weight would have. Like my knees wouldn’t suffer like they do occasionally, I’d gain some confidence, and I might actually be confident enough to go for a job that I’ll enjoy a lot more than the Customer Service job I have now.

Even though I mentioned the BMI scale earlier. I don’t really think that this is a good scale for what weight a person should be. According to this scale, my ideal weight should be about 150 pounds or around the 11 stone mark as I’m 5 foot 10 inches tall. I’m not sure about this. To me that doesn’t sound like much. I have images of becoming a lollipop head or looking ill if I lose too much. With this in mind, I think I am just going to do what I can to get healthy and to a weight that I am happy with.

I’m 2 days into my new regime and I think I’m doing pretty well so far. My toughest challenges will be when I’m invited to eat at my parent’s, my boyfriend’s place (as he lives with his parents), and if I go out for a meal somewhere. Now the latter doesn’t happen too often, and I can try and choose the healhiest option available on the menu. But eating at mine and my boyfriend’s parents will definitely be the challenge. Both of our Mums cook as if an army are going to be turning up. Small portions are not an option in their houses. So I will have to make sure I learn the power of now and I’ll have to leave some on my plate when I’m full rather than eating it all. I’ll also have to turn down desserts, my mum’s especially. She makes amazing homemade puddings but all are very bad for the diet. I may allow myself a treat now and then, once I’ve started to lose some of my weight. But for now, I want to do the best I can and start as I mean to go on.

By some strange coincidence, one of my friends sent me a text message about joining the local gym. I was thinking of doing this, as I had joined before but cancelled it due to lack of funds. But now I’m a little more bouyant I was going to join up and give it a good go. So that means I might have the occasional gym buddy, which could help with the motivation some what. We’ve decided to go and get signed up at the end of the month, once we’ve both been paid. So May could be a much more healthy month for me!

In the meantime, I will let you know how I get on. My thoughts, achievements and any good recipies I come across on the way.

If anyone has any good tips for me, I’m happy to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

