Step in the right direction?

Posted on Updated on

Fitness and exercise has never really been very high on my priorities. But I know that if i ever want to shift any weight diet alone is not going to cut it in the long term. So I have been trying to up my steps everyday, for starters at least. I have a built in pedometer on my phone to keep track of these. Now, I know the target we are all “meant” to aim for is 10,000 steps a day but I have a desk job which means I am on the phone for 7 hours a day, so it makes it hard to rank up those steps. I have set myself a target of 5,000 for now, to see how I get on. The results of the last week is below.

4 out of 7 days I have managed to go past my target, I’m pretty proud of myself. I just have to try and stick to it! I am trying to figure out what to do on days I might not be able to go out walking somewhere. I’m sorry, but I am going to be a fair weather walker!

My steps over the last few days

On wet and windy days, I may do some weight and tone up exercising instead. I have been looking on the internet at different routines to follow. It might be a good way to stop me getting bored as well. I have tried the gym before, and I just could not get into it. I do still have the membership, I’m paid up til June, so I might go in a few times to give it a whirl, but that is a very big might.

I have said a lot of times that I am going to do exercise and get fit etc, but nothing has ever come of it. But my eating pattern is so messed up at the moment, I need something to stop me reaching for food when I’m not hungry. I know I am doing it because I am bored, and it’s not healthy!!

So I hope that I can stick with it and I start enjoying myself for this so I can finally start making big changes in my diet and health for the better. I got my 1.5 stone award for Slimming World in September, and haven’t got any since. This needs to change!!!

Leave a Reply

